DAY 1. Mardi Himal Trek

KATHMANDU -> POKHARA

My alarm woke me up at 5:30 am. I then packed all my stuff and prepare for a very long bus ride. Around 6:30 am, Narayan send me off at the bus station heading to Pokhara. The tourist bus starts to roll an hour later.

After 45 minutes on the road stuck in traffic, I started chatting with the passenger sitting next to me. We were surprised when we realized that both of us were Pinay (short term for Filipino women). She’s half Kuwaiti and half Filipina though she’s never been to the Philippines yet. We’ve had a great story telling session about anything under the sun. I thought that I’m too frugal when it comes to expenses but I’m wrong. She’s even worse. You won’t believe how much this gorgeous lady spent in a daily basis. She only spent $5-$10 a day (accommodation, food, etc.). Incredible!

This is just one of the perks while traveling solo. You’ll learn a lot from other solo travelers and vice versa. There’s a lot of travelers like you whom you can count on at any time.    

“You may be traveling solo but you’re not really alone.” ~ Mhez

IMG_0503
The road to Pokhara. Haze in the morning as usual.

After 7 hours bus ride, we finally arrived in Pokhara. A minute later, Nawaraj (brother of Narayan) picked me up at the bus stop along the busy highway. Whether I like it or not I have to say goodbye to my new friend Linah. She’s trekking solo to Annapurna Basecamp (4,130 meters) and the author on the other hand was heading to Mardi Himal Basecamp (4,500 meters). We bid farewell and wish the best of luck for each other.

Narayan’s family was very accommodating and my first 10 minutes in North Star Guesthouse felt like home already. Around 5:00 pm, I met Salik (brother of Narayan) who’s going to be my mountain guide on a week long climb to MBC. We roamed around Pokhara and never missed the chance to visit the famous Phewa Tal Lake.

IMG_0511
First glance of Annapurna Himalayan range from the Lakeside.

I love this city already. Shops, stores, hotels, and restaurants were organized unlike Kathmandu. The streets are spacious and orderly. We’ve had our exquisite dinner in the Lakeside restaurant then head back to the guesthouse two hours later.

I suppose to sleep early however I was glued at the terrace in a breezy cold evening. It won’t hurt to stay a little longer and feel the soothing cold night outside my room. Continue reading ->


If you just landed on this page then below is my short story how it all started and the complete list of my Mardi Himal Base Camp adventure.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

