DAY 2. Mardi Himal Trek

Pokhara – Kande – Deurali (2100m)

I jumped out of bed past 7:00 in the morning and had my unexpected complimentary breakfast few minutes after. The Bhandari brothers told me that it would take 3-4 hours to reach Deurali (2100 meters) so I decided to paraglide in the morning and start our journey up the mountains in the afternoon.

After breakfast, we headed to Sarangkot with FlyNirvana. The nerve-racking bumpy ride on a long and winding road going up the hill was remarkable. One wrong move of the driver and you’ll find yourself down the cliff for sure. The driver got drifting skills (Nepal version of fast and furious). We reached the paragliding point after 25 minutes and I’m glad that we’re still alive and kicking. Haha!

I had superb moment the whole 30 minutes in the sky. Felt like a bird while getting high with the magnificent views up in the air. The majestic Annapurna range in Himalayas, the serene Phewa Tal Lake, the massive green trees, the sublime rice terraces, and the 360 degrees picturesque view of Pokhara city. One word to describe it – Phenomenal.

DSC_0007
Warming up in the sky before embarking on a tough journey up the mountains.

Salik and I headed to Kande at 12:30 pm, an hour drive from Pokhara. I ate noodle soup when we arrived and met several refugees from Tibet. Listening to their tragic stories breaks my heart and I wish I could do more to help.

DSC_0011
Rusty trail map on our way to Deurali.

We started our trek an hour later and reached Deurali in two hours’ time (3:30 pm). Lots of time to spare however not so much views to see. The thick haze covered almost everything and you can’t barely see the sunset.

We had early dinner and well-pleased to finished the whole huge plate of Dal Bhat. Oh well, I need to load carbs and eat a lot of protein to recharge myself. Trying the local made wine offered by the lodge owner was an awesome experience. The wine taste awful but worth a try. You also need some amount of alcohol when the temperature is below zero. Continue reading ->


If you just landed on this page then below is my short story how it all started and the complete list of my Mardi Himal Base Camp adventure.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

