Pokhara Peace Pagoda – Simply Amazing

ABOUT THE TEMPLE

Pokhara Shanti Stupa (Pokhara Peace Pagoda) stands on top of Ananda hill 1100 meters above sea level. It was a shrine built as symbol of peace. Nepal has two peace pagodas: Shanti Stupa in Pokhara and Shanti Stupa in Lumbini, the birthplace of Buddha.

Pokhara Peace Pagoda provides a panoramic view of the Annapurna range, the city of Pokhara, and Phewa Tal Lake. The hilltop also provides a dazzling view of both sunrise and sunset.

HOW TO GET THERE?

  • Hiking – There are several trails going up the hill and the most famous one is by crossing the lake by boat then climb uphill. It is strongly recommended to hire a guide or take someone with you whom you trust. Several cases of mugging was reported in the past.
  • Cycling – For cycling enthusiast who’s looking for a tougher route with a very rewarding view then, you may give this a try.
  • Taxi or private car – It will take about 25 minutes’ drive from Chorepatan to Shanti Stupa. Public transports going to the foothill of the temple are not yet available.

After my tough and memorable journey up the Himalaya Mountains, I guess I deserve a little break. Spending quality time with myself on the terrace outside my room was fantastic. Embracing the soothing cold night while mesmerized with the glittering lights on the neighborhood. Then, my eyes got caught by the sparkling lights on top of the hill. It was when I told myself, I got to go there no matter what.

I should’ve packed my stuff for my trip to Kathmandu the next day, however my soul didn’t want to leave without seeing this very interesting place. Change of plans so to speak and I decided to extend my stay in Pokhara. I made the right choice indeed.

It’s late in the afternoon and hiking up the hill would be a very bad idea for a solo traveler like me. I took Salik with me and we hire a taxi instead. It was a smooth 35 minutes’ drive from the Lakeside Rd. to the foothill of the temple.  

IMG_0632

IMG_0677

Hundreds of steps going up to Peace Pagoda temple was really worth it.

IMG_0645

IMG_0666
Isn’t it beautiful?

The view was superb and Annapurna range is also visible on a clear sky. The serene Phewa Tal Lake below was lovely while you enjoy the 360 degree view from the top.

IMG_0682

IMG_0693

IMG_0695

Don’t forget to grab a drink or anything to eat on your decent. Treat your appetite after feeding your eagle eye with splendid scenery.

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

